### 2024 SPECIAL DISTRICTS QUALIFYING PROCEDURE

Qualifying Period – Noon, Monday, June 10, 2024 – Noon, Friday, June 14, 2024 (Dates are subject to change)

## <u>Special District Candidates who WILL NOT incur election expenses or contributions will do the following:</u>

- 1. Present the items listed below during the qualifying period
  - Form 1 Statement of Financial Interest
  - Form DS-DE 302NP Candidate Oath Nonpartisan Office
  - Qualifying fee of \$25.00 or
  - 25 valid petitions.

# <u>Special District Candidates who WILL incur election expenses or contributions must do the following:</u>

- File DS-DE9 Appointment of Campaign Treasurer/Designation of Campaign Depository (open campaign account).
   This must be completed **prior** to accepting campaign contributions and making campaign expenditures, (section 99.061(3), F.S.).
- 2. Read Chapter 106 of the Florida Statutes and submit a DS-DE84 Statement of Candidate.
- 3. File required campaign treasurer's reports
- 4. Present qualifying documents during the qualifying period.
  - Form 1 Statement of Financial Interest
  - Form DS-DE 302NP Candidate Oath Nonpartisan Office
  - Qualifying fee of \$25.00 or
  - 25 valid petitions

#### **Candidates Paying the Qualifying Fee:**

All special district candidates, except a person certified to qualify by the petition method or seeking to qualify as a write-in candidate, must pay the qualifying fee of \$25.00.

The qualifying fee for a special district candidate is not required to be drawn upon the candidate's campaign account.

### **Candidates Qualifying by Petition Method:**

Special district candidates need 25 valid signatures of qualified electors within the district. There is a fee of 10 cents per petition to be paid to the Supervisor of Elections for the cost of verifying the signature. The fee must be paid at the time the petitions are submitted.

The deadline for submitting candidate petitions is **Noon, Monday, May 13, 2024**.

Special district candidates are not required to file Form DS-DE 9 prior to collecting signatures.

See Section 99.061(3), Florida Statutes.